Tom Royall
Letchworth Garden City Maths Tutor

 

Mobile: 07761 484130
 
• Primary        • Secondary      • GCSE        • A Level       • IB        • QTS Numeracy
     
 



My name is Tom Royall and I'm a maths tutor based in Letchworth.
I'm an experienced and friendly secondary school maths teacher and tutor.

I immensely enjoy teaching one-to-one, and students and parents find
me highly effective. I've taught privately over many years, and
also had recent and extensive contracts for one-to-one work at
Highfield School, Knights Templar School and Hitchin Girls School.




Students often struggle with maths at school because of
misconceptions that are particular to them, and difficult to
rectify in a whole class setting, and which lead to the student
losing confidence. One-to-one tuition can be an excellent way to
address these misconceptions. and enable the student to re-connect
with their enjoyment of the subject.

As a psychology graduate (before studying maths
at university level), I have a fascination with how students themselves
will approach a maths problem, and I'm good at allowing them to
explore and develop their own ideas. I find they almost always have
energy and enthusiasm for, say, a ratio or algebra problem, if
they are allowed to explore it with cuisinaire rods or other
easily accessible symbols.

I also use written teaching materials, some of the best of which
happen to be past test papers. Added hints drawn onto these make them
as accessible as possible, which is helpful for many students because
they often want to work on these materials in between the sessions.


 



Students tend to enjoy the sessions.

I can usually help with literacy, music and science topics, as well.

I'm happy to supply references, and an enhanced CRB disclosure.

Half price if qualifying for free school meals.





I teach the following levels:
Primary, Secondary, GCSE, A Level (AS, A2 and Further),
IB Diploma (SL, HL).
Price is £25 per hourly (or £40 per 2-hourly) session,
at my home near the centre of Letchworth,

or up to 7 or 8 miles around.
A-level resources:
Mechanics
Calculus